If you are a vegan you will definitely want to avoid eggs and all egg based products, as do some vegetarians. You may also want to stick to an egg free diet if you have an allergy or intolerance to the allergen in the egg protein. Eggs are used for so many things under so many guises (like egg albumen)
Egg allergy usually develops in babies and young children, and many children grow out of it in a few years. However Egg allergy can continue into adulthood especially if you suffer from other allergies. Symptoms can show themselves within minutes and can include a rash around your mouth, swelling in the mouth or face, sneezing and wheezing, and vomiting. It is common for it to seem like the throat is closing up. If the allergy is severe, egg allergy can cause anaphylactic shock. These days it is easy to spot and avoid eggs in your diet as a new law came out in 2005 stating that if a food contains eggs it must be stated in the cautions panel of the label as egg can cause anaphylactic shock and result in death.
Any egg ingredients hiding here?
Common foods you should avoid or look for an egg free alternative for are things like mayonnaise, cakes and pastries, batter and pancake products, custard, noodles, and other pastas, sauces, cookies, baking powder, waffles, pretzels, meringue, breaded foods and maybe even ice cream. You should be fine with Easter eggs though! These are the ingredients to look out for which are produced from eggs: albumin, globulin, livetin, lysozyme, or Simplesse (TM) sweetener.
Egg free alternatives
No need to panic though, there is an excellent selection of egg free foods and alternatives which can make you life a little easier. Here you will find egg free mayonnaise, custard powder, cakes, pasta, and even egg replacer to help you replace eggs in baking.